Life, Thoughts

The faces of happiness I see

I see happiness in moments when I’m alone with my imagination.

I see happiness when I think about the food I’m going to eat later in the day be it garri, groundnut & sugar. 🙂

I see happiness in a cold bottle of beer, feeling its icy smoothness in my mouth as it courses through my throat. As I give a contented belch after the last gulp.

I see happiness when I’m asked a question and I smilingly tell ’em: I don’t know the answer.

I see happiness in rain and thunderstorms; knowing I’ve got an ‘excuse’ to lay about and be lazy, just because.

I see happiness in not knowing all the answers to my questions, but venturing to answer them as best as I can anyway.

I see happiness in a plate of rice and stew with fried dodo (fried plantains) and chilled water shared amongst a trio of equally hungry friends.

I see happiness in taking in the scenery as I stare out the window of a fast moving bus on a long distance journey.

I see happiness in breathing and living. Despite the seeming myriad challenges I face in my daily life as a human.

5 thoughts on “The faces of happiness I see”

  1. Oh I see you already have it up.

    I love this part:
    “see happiness in breathing and living. Despite the seeming myriad challenges I face in my daily life as a human.”

    We can have find happiness in the most simplistic activities and things if we only bother to experience them, rather than just live through them.
    Thank you for writing this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

